I’m back!

DSC_1410

Happy times with my nephew

I have been back for a couple of weeks but have finally managed to grab 5 minutes to update this blog. So a slightly belated Happy New Year- I hope 2013 will bring you whatever you want! I don’t know, 2012 was a very strange year for me, so I’m not making any resolutions or planning anything, because you never know how things in life turn out to be. I was planning on going cold turkey on eBay and have already failed, so there you go.

Apart from the fact that I managed to be sick for the whole time with some  bizarre viral throaty infection I had a lovely Christmas break. Time was shared between my parents and my sister, and as usual I got to spend some time with my little nephew. As you can see on the picture above he was very intrigued by his auntie’s clothes! I can’t wait to play dress up with him when he’s a little bit older. The skirt I am wearing was handmade last year after I saw a very similar one in H&M. I never took the plunge to wear it before though- but that became a staple in my wardrobe during the holiday. It has such a lovely drape- I really enjoyed twirling to amuse my nephew!!!

It also happened to be my birthday. I made a ridiculously big fuss about it for months beforehand- pathetic I know. Now that my birthday is gone and I’m actually 30 (there, I said it) I am feeling much better about it. It was fantastic; I was spoilt for weeks beforehand by colleagues and friends, and then on the actual day spent a great time with my family. And amongst all my super gifts I got a tablet!!! I’m finally slowly reaching 21st century technology. The only downside is that it’s a bit of a pain to write blog posts on there- so I’m hanging on to my old laptop for updating En Vrac!

IMG_0475

I think she’s happy

IMG_0474

Super yummy birthday cake!!!

New Year celebrations were very quiet. I’ve never really celebrated New Year’s Eve anyway so I didn’t mind, I was in good company and that what all that mattered.

Since then, I flew back, and have been busy with my Lindy Hop lessons, tried Hot Yoga, went out to the Free for All Festival, caught up with some friends, started sewing a circle skirt from my mum (with- wait for it- some Dior fabric!!! Bought in Tissus Jaures in Orleans, my favourite fabric shop ever) and got myself on Pinterest! Phew, I have been busy! And this weekend I am planning on starting a Creative Writing for Children workshop. I have always wanted to attend a Creative Writing course, and this seems perfect!

So now that I’m more or less back on track, this blog should be updated more often. There are a couple of vintage acquisitions I can’t wait to blog about, the only thing is that I need to take pictures, and this is proving to be a real pain- when I have the time to do it, the weather is always rubbish!!!

Today it has been snowing in most of the UK, including Cardiff!

601065_10151426385703894_1172119336_n

That’s the Royal Infirmary, just off Newport Road- newly renovated and looking stunning!

Oh dear, Pinterest and vintage effects on pictures… I think I’m turning into a hipster.

Leave a comment!!!

