Out and About in South Wales – Margam Park

Whenever my parents come to visit me I like to take them to familiar places which I know they like, but I also throw in a couple of sites/ towns where I’ve never been, so that we can explore together. This time, after a trip to my beloved 1940s Swansea Bay Museum, we decided to go and have a look at Margam Park, just off the motorway (Junction 38).

 

The park is absolutely massive, and there are lots and lots to see, like the ruins of this Cistercian Abbey above.

The highlight is Margam Castle, a large Victorian Gothic mansion. In my mum’s words “I feel like I’m in a Harry Potter movie”.

The mansion is surrounded by a massive park and we managed to see some of the deer herd.

Inside the mansion was this very impressive, Harry Potter-esque stone staircase.

The inside of the mansion was surprisingly bare, and there were numerous tools lying around. Maybe there are some works going on at the moment and they’re planning on putting furniture? It would really be stunning.

We were quite lucky with the weather, it was a beautiful, crisp Autumn day, which enabled my dad to take all these beautiful pictures. This is definitely somewhere I’ll take them again.

More info on Margam Park:

Official website

Entry to the park is free but there is a charge for the car park (3.90 for a car). There is a coffee shop and a gift shop inside. The Park is open daily from 10am to 4.30pm in the winter season.

8 thoughts on “Out and About in South Wales – Margam Park

  1. I’ve been to an antiques fair in the orangery at Margam, but never made it to the actual house, it looks amazing! Your Dad’s pics are lovely, looks like a really nice day

    • Funny you’re mentioning the antiques fair as somebody else told me about it yesterday! It is a massive place, we didn’t do everything as it was getting a bit late in the day and we still needed to have lunch. Next time we are planning on spending a bit more time exploring the surroundings. Right now is a great time to go as the colours are beautiful, but it gets dark so early that you need to come in the morning to make sure you have plenty of time to see everything. x

    • Hi Owyn, your pics are absolutely stunning! They make me want to go back and explore the park even more.

      I can’t wait to see the pictures you’ll take of the monastic ruins in the snow!

      • Thank you so very much. I can’t wait either. I will be taking pictures of the fairlytale village in the snow as well. That should look amazing. It is closed off now though so I will have to jump the fence.

    • Thank you! These pictures were actually taken by my dad with his camera, which seems to be better than mine! I am trying very hard to improve my photographic skills…

      I use a free program called Photoscape, which lets me do all sorts of thing like adding my name on pictures, cropping, improving the lighting of the pictures, and giving the vintage effect on some of the pictures. I have been using it for a couple of years now and I’m very happy with it. I know a lot of people use Photoshop, but that’s far too complicated for me- Photoscape keeps it simple which is ideal for me!

      I really like your blog- your posts always have a nice positive vibe🙂

      • Aw thanks Dorine. Really appreciate the comment on the blog, slightly worried its a bit too odd. It keeps me smiling which is my aim for it!

        That’s really interesting about Photoscape. I am going to check that out!

Leave a comment!!!

