London

Ah dear, I have been neglecting the blog again! The problem is, I finally have a bit of a life, but can’t really find time to blog about it. So, with nearly a month delay, here is a post about my short break in London town.

image

I went a bid mad on Friday taking pics of Paddington station. I never realised how beautiful it is, lots of Art Deco details.

image

image

As soon as you step out of the train you can feel you’re somewhere completely different. There is a buzz about London which I don’t think I have felt anywhere else. And you have to pay 30p to get into the toilets of the station!

image

We arrived on Friday night and were staying at a friend’s house outside London, near a small town called Crowborough, which involved another hour long train journey. And a little ride in the Tube. Very exciting! I love the London Underground, so easy to use. For the next 3 days the Northern line was our best friend.

image

image

After a big breakfast on Saturday morning, we were back in the train for a full day in the big city and decided to check out Canary Wharf first. I had been there once, 10 years ago on a cold December night to go and see Madness for the first time. I was quite curious to see what was actually there. It turned out that there wasn’t much, but we saw the Gherkin in the distance and as it was a glorious day we sat down by the water and had endless cups of tea.

A Tube ride later and we were in Covent Garden. It was definitely more lively, and we had an entertaining little walk round the market. Sadly, I felt the market was a blatant tourist trap, selling the same cheap tat every other stall. I noticed lovely scarves with bird print at very interesting prices, but after seeing them on at least 10 stalls and around the necks of a dozen girls in the Tube I was glad I didn’t buy one.

image

image

image

image

Still, it was a nice opportunity to see grand buildings.  I loved walking by all the different theaters.

Saturday night was spent in a lovely country pub with great food and a few drinks. On Sunday it was time to go back, the journey back took longer than expected (the train seemed to stop at very random locations) but before leaving I managed to take some pictures of sleepy Rotherfield.

image

image

image

I know it doesn’t sound like I did much, but I’ve already done most of the touristy stuff,  so I wasn’t really bothered. Getting out of Cardiff was an event in itself! And between the train travelling and the tube rides, it was good only to have a handful of places to go to.

One thing which I absolutely loved is the special display created by Transport for London in some of the stations to celebrate the 150th birthday. While you were riding the escalators the screens on the side were showing people from different decades riding the escalator too. Stunning! It certainly put a smile on my face.

image

I always say I like visiting London but wouldn’t live there. We were a bit bewildered by it all. Cardiff is better suited for me!

One thought on “London

  1. ahhh j’y retournerai bien à Londres… la dernière photo, il me semble l’avoir vu dans le métro. J’avais tilté, et l’avais trouvé original. bonne soirée

Leave a comment!!!

